A bed of one’s own.

Published February 23, 2012 by lowercase v

Gabi just love her comfy new bed.

Even though it’s against house rules I let Gabi cuddle up next to me in bed for a birthday snuggle. I know I’m teaching her boundaries, but we haven’t been at it long and at this stage she only had her (regular, human) pillow. I intended on taking her for a morning walk. However, after my morning coffee I fell right back asleep and when I woke I it was already warm. Even with her sun screen, which she does not like all, I’m trying too keep her out of the sun as much as possible, for a few days at least.

I went to the pet store to buy a doggy bed for Gabs. It has soft (faux) furry lining which is Iggy snuggle heaven. When I got home, I put the bed down on the floor. I said, “Look Gabi.” and she was in the bed in two secs flat. She rolled around, tried snuggle positions, stuck her nose into nooks and decided that it was good. She leaped up, wagged her tailed and jumped to lick my face. She bolted for my room, returned with a stuffed toy and plopped back down on the bed. Eventually I took the bed to our room. She spend a large portion of the day in bed.

My brother and his girlfriend came over for dinner, Nachos (with salsa and cheese) and fruit salad (for dessert). She was a bit reluctant to go over to him (keep in mind that she’s very cautious of men), but eventually went over for a friendly pat and let him throw her ball for her to fetch (and not return). For most of the evening though she remained in her very own bed and did not even want to sit on my lap for a picture. :)

Even though I didn’t have a party this year, I was an awesome birthday. Gabi’s new bed is one of the best things I have ever bought. She seems so happy. That makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

