Rumbly in her tummy…

Published August 26, 2012 by lowercase v

I’m a bit worried. Gabi has been experiencing some symptoms of indigestion. Including but not limited to:  gagging, stomach noises, grass eating, grass spit up and stools that just look “wrong”.

I’ve been noticing it more since WODACWas it the samples?  Was it the Pedigree dental chews? The doggy cup cakes form the rescue organizations’s stand? One of the food samples?


Or is it her food, the dry dog food I buy from Woolworth’s, the affordable food that compares well with other local and supermarket foods? So much for a locally produced product.

WOOLWORTH’S PREMIUM DOG FOOD:
LIST OF INGREDIENTS:
Chicken Meal, Corn, Sorghum, Rice, Wheaten Bran, Natural Flavourant, Corn Gluten Meal, Petblend Oil, Alfalfa Meal, Mono Calsium Phosphate (MCP) Minerals (Sodium Hexametaphosphate, Salt, Potassium Carbonate, Ferrous Sulphate, Zinc Sulphate, Organic Zinc, Manganese Sulphate, Organic Manganese, Copper Sulphate, Organic Copper, Potassium Iodiate, Sodium Selenite, Organic Selenium, Organic Chrome), Vitamins (Choline Chloride, Vitamin A Supplement, vitamin D3 Supplement, vitamin K3 Supplement Vitamin E Supplement, Ascorbic Acid, Niacin, calcium Pantothenate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavine, Thiamine, Folic Acid, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement), Manno-oligosaccharides, L-carnitine and approved anti-oxidant.


Is she allergic to wheat, corn or any other grains? (Seems like all the local kibble contains corn.) Or the foods I’ve been giving her? Or the homemade biscuits I baked for her? Should I be switching to a grain free food, or just one without corn and wheat? Should I be switching to “fresh food”. I’m not sure how convenient cooking for her on a regular basis will be. I’m sorry, call me selfish, but I just can’t cook meat. I also don’t think Gabi has to be vegetarian just because I can. There are tow companies I know of that sell healthy  prepared dog meals, but I haven’t calculated what it will cost compared to dry dog food yet. These products are not exactly available at the nearest vet or supermarket, so I’d probably have to drive across town on a regular basis.  Not all that convenient… and is it really that much better?

Iggy receiving treat
Ideally I’d have her on Organix.  The guaranteed analyses is excellent and she just loved the sample we got from WODAC. Earthborn Holistic’s Grain-free Primitive also looks good.  The thing is that they are imported from the USA and too expensive for me at this stage.

Alternatively, I will first try supplementing her food with a probiotic supplement.  I will probably also try a slow-feeder appears food bowl if it looks like she’s eating too fast.

I’m just hoping this is something that can be fix without veterinary intervention and not serious. She seems fine in other aspects though, running around like crazy. She seems fine in most ways, I just don’t want her tummy troubles leading to more health issues.  I’m hoping the probiotics will do the trick.

Whoever said all you need is love, wasn’t thinking about health-care…

Leave a Reply

