A Change in Diet

Published September 23, 2012 by lowercase v

Gabi’s tummy trouble had me rethinking her kibble. A while a go I stopped feeding Woolworth’s premium dog, because I thought it might be part of the problem, and switch to Purina One.   Gabi’s tummy trouble persisted and we ended up at the vet. He feared she might have pre-cancerous cells.

She got dewormed, was given shots and antibiotics and also two cans of special soft food.  When we so the vet five days later, things looked exponentially better… and luckily, it wasn’t Cancer. The vet advised me to keep watching her poop for any signs of trouble. I also had to feed something better than the Purina. It didn’t have to be one of the more expensive brands, he said. Something like Vet’s Choice or Wuma (a local brand) would be fine. If she continued to have trouble I’d have to switch to a more expensive specialty diet for a few months. I still think one or more of the samples we got at WODAC turned her sensitive tummy into a rolling snowball.

I decided to first  feed her a more sensitive diet for a month or three, in order for her to recover, and then switch to something like Wuma. I’ve now had Gabi on Earthborn Holistics – Coastal Catch (Grain Free) for a few days. So far, so good.  It is a bit expensive, because it’s imported from the USA, but for a few months it’s okay.  She’s pretty much her old self.

To be honest, I have been given her teeny bites of carrot but A LOT less than before. At the moment I have absolutely no treats or doggy biscuits for her. I also haven’t baked anything for her in ages.

I’ve also considered Vondi’s Frozen Dog Food, but it would also work out a bit expensive and I’m not sure how it would will work logistically.  As for cooking for Gabs myself, as I said before,  I cannot  cook  animals flesh, I will not touch raw meat.  I don’t have any problem with Gabi eating meat, but I won’t cook it. I also won’t try to make her a vegan/ vegetarian.

If  Gabi could decided what she wanted to be eating, it would be meat, carrots, pumpkin, sweet potatoes, chocolate (I’ve never fed it to her, relax!), junk food, bacon, cheese, cookies, gingerbread, cupcakes and everything else that humans around her are eating.Except for fruit, or salad. She doesn’t like that.

Leave a Reply

