Restless Night

Published November 6, 2012 by lowercase v

Yesterday was a very hot summers day and we didn’t go for a walk, today is pretty hot too. Despite yesterday being the 5th of November and Guy Fawkes, we didn’t hear a single firework or firecracker. Over all it was a pretty calm evening. I’m not sure why South Africans celebrated this at all. We haven’t been a British colony for many  generations now. Why do we need to freak out all the animals with unnecessary noise?

Guy Fawkes (13 April 1570 – 31 January 1606) and English Catholic who  planned the failed Gunpowder plot of 1605,  which was a plan to blow up parliament and the Protestant King James.  The plot was discovered thanks to an anonymous letter and on 5 November the cellars below parliament was searched. Gunpowder was discovered. Fawkes was arrested and tortured to give up intelligence. Fawkes and seven of his co-accused were found guilty of high treason and were executed.  On 5 November 1606 were encouraged to celebrate the King’s escape from assassination.
In Britain the 5th of November is celebrated as Guy Fawkes Night and entails bonfires, the burning of effigies and fireworks.  -Source: Wikipedia

I was up pretty late and watched some videos on my computer in bed. When I finally turned off the light to go to sleep I started hearing tummy noises from Gabi’s  bed. I got up and checked on her, rubbed her tummy for a while and went back to bed. The noises continued non-stop. I got up to check on her again.

I wondered if her tummy was noisy because it was empty. By that time she still hadn’t eaten the kibble I put on her bowl on Sunday night. There was also an uneaten piece of carrot (Gabi will normally try to snatch carrots out of my mouth). I went to get a bit of rice from the kitchen, but she wouldn’t eat it.

I took her underarm temperature  It’s not very accurate, but the reading was higher than normal so I was scared that she might have a fever. I then dropped the thermometer on the tile floor and it broke. I picked up the main pieces, but didn’t see any mercury. I then switched on the main bedroom light and looked under my bed. I didn’t see anything so I checked around the room. Gabi stirred in her bed. Then I saw it, several beads of mercury (poisonous) on the floor right beneath Gabi’s bed. She look like she wanted to get up, so I picked her up and carried her to the couch in the living room. I then struggled to pick the mercury up and throw it in a plastic bag. I really think I should invest in one of those digital ear thermometers, but they’re expensive.

After it was cleaned up and Gabi came back to her bed, I heated up a bit of pumokin and offered it to her on a spoon. She didn’t want to eat it so I added it to the rice. I kissed her head and went back to my own bed. After awhile, she climed into my bed. I was still lying awake and crying. The last time I saw the clock it was around 4am.

I slept late this morning. Gabi has eaten the rice and pumpkin and some more rice and pumpkin, but still no kibble. She seems much better today, so I haven’t taken her to the vet, but I’m keeping an eye on her.

Leave a Reply

