Gabi Tries: Neem Oil

Published December 28, 2012 by lowercase v

crazy dance

Summer time is here and brings with it ticks and fleas. Rather than chemical spot treatments I wanted to try something more natural, and considered a lemongrass and other oils mix, a ultra-sonic repellent device or neem oil.

At the moment I’m trying neem oil.  It costs around R55 ($6.47) for a 50ml bottle.

Neem Oil comes from India. It is a natural repellent of ticks, fleas and mosquitoes. It’s also a moisturizer with anti-fungal properties, safe for both human and animal use.  I expected it to have a citrussy or peppery scent, but it smells a bit like brown onion soup. It smells okay, but it’s probably not what you want to be smelling like ALL the time….  Still it’s probably better than Tabbard.

Gabi also licks the Neem oil, which could be a problem since it is for external use only. It’s also bizarre  because the neem tastes quite bitter and dogs supposedly dislike bitter tastes. The fact that she licks the neem alone makes it a be not an option for use on Gabi.

I’ve used the oil on myself and I’m not sure if it’s works against  mozzies. Maybe I should just apply it to more areas. I do think it has improves the appearance of my heels.

And It seems it would have to be applied to the dog regularly to be effective. I put some on Gabi’s collar and shoulder blades when I bathed her last Saturday (just before Christmas) and yesterday my mother thought she saw a flea on Gabi. I don’t know if she picked it up from another dog on Christmas day, or wherever, but since she is very much an inside dog, fleas just won’t fly around here.

I don’t know if there is a difference between the difference brands of neem oil, or if it’s pretty much a standard recipe. I don’t think this was a wasted purchase, since I will be using the neem oil on myself, at the moment I’m just not convinced that it’s right for Gabi.

 

Leave a Reply

