Counting Sleeps

Published January 9, 2013 by lowercase v

I am counting the days until Sunday. We are so to the coast of Kwazulu Natal. I’m very excited. This will be my first vacation with Gabi.

excited
Today I got Gabi a new Rogz step-in harness (medium). Her old Rogz small harness was loose at the front but really tight around her chest and seemed uncomfortable.  The medium, adjusted to its smallest setting seems a bit on the loose side, but I guess it’s better than a harness pushing in on her. It’s a bit frustrating when your dog doesn’t fit standards sized apparel.

I also go her some Isle of Dog gluten free dog cookies, since she seems to be intolerant to wheat. Since they are imported form the USA they work out a bit expensively, I wish we had a gluten free local dog biscuit.

I’m really looking forward to this holiday and to sharing it with Gabi. I already have a holistic remedy for if she has any tummy trouble and some Pet Calm in case she’s nervous or distressed during the trip, or in case we encounter any fireworks on our vacation. I still need to get something  in case of motion sickness. She has never had a problem in the car before, but we have also never been on such a long car trip with Gabi so it’s best to be prepared.

I found out that Gabi can swim, but will not spontaneously go in the water on her own.

wait in car

As far as toys go I’m packing her Softies Dog  squeaky plush toy, the ball launcher, a rope toy, a homemade ball-and-sock toy and a Mini Orka Flyer dog frisbee.

I will also be taking her blanket and her sleeping bag. I’ll take the Rogz seat belt clip, though I don’t think I’ll be attaching her to it for most of the time. I usually use it to restrain her when I’m driving alone with her in the car.

She had her shots, including the one for rabies last month. She was recently dewormed and had a spot treatment for ticks and flea. I think she’s pretty much good to go. Perhaps just a bath before we leave.

So we might be quiet for a while, but I hope we’ll be back with some great pictures of Gabi on the beach.

sleepy

Leave a Reply

