Not such good fences…

Published August 7, 2013 by lowercase v

Lullu in yard lulu

She’s done it again! Three days in a row now,  Gabi’s friend next-door, Lulu the JRT, has popped in for a visit.

I noticed on Monday  that Lulu was running about outside. Luckily the  (neighbour) woman was there and she heard the commotion.  She called for Lulu and I wanted to help her over the fence, but she wouldn’t let me pick her up. The woman climbed over the wall and took Lulu home. I showed her a huge hole in the plastic fencing which Lulu (and I guess Misty) had bitten through.  She said her husband would check out the fence that evening.

hole in fence Hello neighbour

Tuesday she was back and also managed to get back home by herself.   While she was in the yard, Misty the Weimeraner who was still a puppy a few months ago at Lulu’s visit was crying  and barking at the fence.  I’m not sure if she was crying for Lulu to come home or wanted to come and join them at our place. I also noticed that she was tearing at the plastic fencing with her teeth and eating it!

I was watering my herbs and the dogs were running through the dirt and Gabi was making paw prints in the house.  I closed Gabi off in the house.  The man was then out in the yard. So I talked with him. I asked about the microchips (because the dogs don’t have tags)  and he assured me the dogs were chipped. I also told him about Misty eating the plastic, in case she got sick.  He put some wood fencing in front of  the wall.  I thought this would fix the problem.

IMG_0072 misty

Wednesday (today) Lulu was back. She also got back home on her own. I don’t know where she got through. My mom saw her go through some where at their back of the yard. I checked out the fence but I don’t know where it is.  I hope she doesn’t teach Gabi to go through the fence with her!

I haven’t seen either of the neighbours since yesterday, but there is  obviously still a problem. Yes it’s our fence too, but it’s  not Gabi causing the problems. The neighbours has 3 dogs, while the rules only allow for 2.  I’m not sure if they don’t know this  (their landlord might not have told them) or if they just don’t care.

5 comments on “Not such good fences…

  • I’ve had to do a lot of scrolling to read from where Gabi first came into your life, and all the subsequent sagas! I had never even heard of an Italian Greyhound, to be quite honest.
    Nice to catch up with you again!

  • Leave a Reply

