Witness to a dog bite

Published February 12, 2014 by lowercase v

We had an encounter on our walk today.

A large dog, by the looks of it a Chow X Lab was roaming around outside.  There was a gate open a few houses away where we stood across the road from where we stood. We had walked past that house several times before, but I thought they just had a Chow. The dog seemed to be out exploring, but he could also have been looking for food.

I picked up Gabi and rounded the corner, still trying  to decided whether I should approach the dog. Of course when I see a stray dog I want to help it, but Gabi and her safety is her first priority. The dog approached us, but not aggressively. I checked but couldn’t see a collar. I wanted to take a picture with my phone, but ended up in the phone book. It occurred my to phone the SPCA, but it was close to 6pm and it would be pass their office hours.

I decided to go to the house. I pressed the intercom. There was a small -type dog inside the yard. A man finally appeared and I asked if it was their dog outside. He was going to get into his bakkie (pick-up truck) to look for the dog. I walked on. I saw the dog again around the next corner (it’s a narrow block). I called him  in a friendly manner and walked towards his house.  A woman came out of the yard. There was a car in the street, so didn’t cross. The woman called the dog, Bo,  angrily and in stead of crossing straight ahead Bo ran to the right.  I was about top turn around and walk on.

At that moment a woman with two labradors came around the corner. The owner of the labradors screamed in fear, inciting Bo further.  The man ran toward them and managed to get Bo back inside. One of the labs had some blood on the side of his head , but it didn’t seem too serious.  I went over to check if they were okay and to offer to be a witness if needed. The woman (lab owner) was crying. She apologized for crying (I don’t think she should have to apologize). The man apologized for his dog’s behaviour. (As if it was just the dog’s fault). I said “Your gate was open.”   I also told him his dog needs to wear a collar and ID. I had seen the dog before some I assumed it was their dog, but I couldn’t know for sure. Bo’s owner told the woman that he would pay for any damages. The matter seemed resolved. I shudder to think how it could have ended. Everyone went off in their own direct.  I was still holding Gabi, she seemed a bit shaky. I only put her down on the ground once we were around the corner.

incident map

In this case I feel really sore for the lab owner.  She seemed in shock. Her dogs are labs dogs and she seems nice enough. BUT I have only seen her dogs walk off leash in the past. In the street!  I always had to pick Gabi up, just to be safe and  because she seemed a bit scared. I don’t know what have happened if they were off leash.

I’m so glad Bo only sniffed Gabi’s butt. I’m so glad she didn’t get hurt. I hope the lab is okay. I hope Bo’s owners do not beat him or mistreat him because of thew incident.

It’s your responsibility to keep your dog in the yard.

Leave a Reply

