Operation Successful

Published August 17, 2016 by lowercase v

Yesterday (Tuesday) morning I took Gabi into the animal clinic for her surgery.

IMG_2695

I had to star prep on Saturday morning, by giving her some antibiotics (for the dental work) twice daily. This is quite tricky, since their is a shortage on animal dosage version of these pills and I have to split powder the human version in two. The powder then has to be dissolved in water in a small syringe. Gabi hates in when I shoot this medicine into her mouth.

On Monday night I had to take her food away at 7 pm.  She was very disappointed not to beg a bite from her grandpa’s dinner plate.   I also had to take a marker and mark all the growths I could find which the vet didn’t biopsy during our visit .

IMG_2685

Traffic wasn’t too bad yesterday morning and I got to the vet’s 10 minutes early, when the gate was still closed. I put her on her leash and we had a short walk so she could stretch her legs and do her business.  I then checked her in.  Understandably, she did not want to go into the cage.

It was a loooooooooooong morning. I had many hot beverages and distracted myself with youtube videos.  Around noon I was at a food store to get a few things. The vet called my on my cellphone while I was there. I didn’t recognize the number and I could not hear him properly so at first I thought it was probably a telemarketer. Luckily I was fairly polite (though I may have sound’t like an idiot).  I heard him say the operation went well and I could pick Gabi up between 5- 6 pm.

I was extremely relieved but the rest of the day seemed like an eternity. I was there a few minutes before 5 pm.  I didn’t have to wait. The assistant told me my timing was good because Gabi’s IV drip finished a few minutes before.  I followed her to the recovery room where my baby was waiting in  a somewhat larger cages.

She wasn’t wearing a cone and the assistant told me she wouldn’t need one. They had removed quite a few fatty tissue growths and also pulled a few teeth (a little more than expected, which also means a somewhat larger bill). They assistant told me Gabi could still eat kibble/ pellets since she still had enough teeth left.

Gabi climbed into me arms and I carried her to the car. She seemed like she might want to jump seats, so I gently put her in her car harness and took her home. When I took her out of the harness once we stopped in the garage, she jumped out of the car and walked towards the house.

Her teeth still seemed sensitive and she wasn’t having any on the kibble, so we gave her some blended rice, pumpkin and chicken.  We will probably feed her soft food for a day or two.

Later she seemed to move more gingerly, probably as the pain killer wore off. She cried when I tried to pick her up to put her on my bed. At times she just stood around or paced about the house.  She did manage to jump onto my bed later to sleep under the duvet with me.

This morning she seems much better, although still sore. She has quite a lot of stitches. She has been licking at the wounds where she can reach, but I don’t think she’s gnawing at them.  I’ll keep an eye out and if there is an issue with the stitches, I’ll call the vet.

Bar for the gaps in her mouth, her teeth look really clean. Cleaner than I’ve ever seen them. (They might have been this clean when she was a pup, but that was long before I adopted her) Her nails are nor short and neatly trimmed. This is actually very awesome as she does not keep still for nail clippers. Ever. Even with someone helping me. Even with treats. I could never do all her paws at the same time. I hope the will file themselves naturally when we go for walk, now that they’re so nice and short.  She can’t have anesthesia every time I need to trim her claws.

IMG_2694

Despite the larger veterinary bill, I am glad we could get all these health issues sorted.

I am so glad to have my little girl home with my. I missed her like crazy the few hours we were separated yesterday. I don’t know what I’d do without her.

PS. Yesterday I saw a newspaper headline about ‘military vets’. My first thought was of some kind of veterinarian taking care of army dogs and other military service animals… then I realized they were human military veterans.

©lowercase v 2016

Leave a Reply

