Snag

Published May 3, 2017 by lowercase v

DAY 5 (Yesterday)
We went to the beach and Gabi enjoyed running on the sand. She gave me a big fright when she nipped at a washed up jellyfish, but she missed the stingy bit and was escaped the encounter unscathed.  She seemed to  really enjoy herself, though when we were not on the beach, she was very tender.  (She snagged her nail somewhere on Monday night. Probably the wooden steps at our vacation house. The nail tore half-off and was bleeding. I wrapped a bandage around her paw.)

She didn’t want me touching her paw at all today and I was a bit concerned that it might get infected.

Since I’m not here with my own transport, last night I asked my dad if we could take Gabi to the vet today.

DAY 6 (Today)
We drove into Knysna to take Gabi to the vet. We went earlier so we drove around Leisure Isle and have coffee at a little dog-friendly coffee shop. We stopped at a view point to look at The Heads.

We then took her to the vet. It was still a bit early, but I thought she might need to be sedated. So they said I had to check her in. I did that and my parents and I went to have lunch nearby. We had just finished when I got a call to pick Gabi up. The vet removed the injured nail, since it was still half attached and cut the other nails for me. She was given a sedative as well as, an antibiotic and anti-inflammatory injections.

We then drove back to where we staying, looking at some fancy houses along the way. To day is a drizzly day, So I had to take Gabi out to pee with a plastic bag around the bandage. She has to wear the bandage for 3 days and cannot get it wet. The vet advised against taking her to the beach. I was given some medication (antibiotics) which I have to give to her from tomorrow morning.  She has been sleeping most of the time since we got back, but she has eaten a bit.

My parents are planning a boat cruise tomorrow. I think I’ll stay here with Gabi, because I don’t really want to leave her alone when she’s injured.

It’s a pity we can’t take her to the beach for the next few days, because she really loves it.

Though, obviously the vet bill has made this vacation a lot more expensive, I’m glad we took her.  It’s a huge weight of my shoulders.

bandaged_paw

©gigbytes (lowercase v) 2017 

Leave a Reply

