Trash

Published May 17, 2017 by lowercase v

This is a rant. It might offend some people. But yeah…

I took Gabi for a walk at the park/ creek where we usually go for our off lead walks. There was a lot of rubbish on the ground. There usually is. Today I decided to pick up some ( A LOT) of it. It makes my skin crawl. I’m kind of germaphobic.  I avoid touching lift/ elevator buttons or escalator railings. Obviously you can’t expect the kind of human trash who can’t even be bothered to walk 3 metres or even a foot to throw their rubbish in a trash can to be bothered with things like hygiene. I didn’t take any pictures of the garbage or of our walk, because I didn’t want to handle my phone too much.

For some pieces of trash I had to go through the field/ grass, down the slope,  to the edge of the (empty) creek. My legs of my tracksuit pants were covered in black jacks (beggar-ticks, those thorny weed things). I probably should’ve been wearing shorts. When I got home I wiped my things as well as the car’s steering wheel, hand brake, gear shift and door handles with an alcohol wipe.

It can’t have been the nicest walk for Gabi, because I was stopping a lot. Picking up things. Trying to limit actually touching them as much as possible.

Why don’t people give a fig about the planet. Do they only care about their own property. Do they not care about public areas or other people’s property because they don’t own it. Because they don’t have their own property? How ill you ever own anything nice with an attitude like that? I don’t have a single piece or property to my name (not even the car I drive). I don’t go around throwing trash on rich peoples lawns, because I don’t own anything. Or is it just a laziness thing?A lot of people would probably call me lazy, but I will carry my trash with me until I can find the appropriate place to dispose of it.  I’m not even very tidy, my desk is pretty unorganized, but I’ll throw away my trash. I recycle what I can.

Do these people have kids? Plan to have kids? Don’t they care about what the planet they are leaving their kids? It’s one thing when there are no trash cans around. In most areas there aren’t really garbage bins on the street. But when there is a trash can a few steps away from you, WHY CAN’T YOU JUST REACH A LITTLE BIT AN THROW YOUR GARBAGE IN IT? Or do you think you’r creating jobs for trash collectors. You’re not. You’re just being trash.

The worst is when they throw chicken bones on the grass (chocking and intestinal hazard for animals)  or glass (someone might cut their foot.

I also don’t get people who don’t pick up their dog’s poop in this day and age. If it’s in a field that’s one thing, but if it’s on a path where people walk or one someone’s drive-way or lawn, you should pick it up. And yes, once maybe in a few hundred time I didn’t not have a bag with me, so I left it, but as a rule I scoop.

When we were on holiday we stopped at a grocery store at Uniondale.  I sat in the car with Gabi. I saw some kids throwing empty yogurt cups out of a parked SUV’s window.  I’m not normally confrontational and I don’t think people should interfere with other people’s kids, but I couldn’t let it go. I got out of the car and picked up their trash. I pointed to a nearby trash can and said (probably in a very annoyed/. angry/ creaky voice, though I tried to be friendly): “There is a trash can right over there.”. I then walked to the bin and threw the yogurt cups in it. I got back in the car and sat there watching them, angrily.  I saw them eating more yogurts. I was kind of expecting them to throw their trash out the window again. They seemed to be very amused. With a great show they girl and the boy got out of the SUV and went to throw their cups in the trash can. Shortly after that there parent came back and the drove away.

I’m not sure I’d be able to confront an adult about their littering. They’d probably just laugh in my face.

If I were on a date with someone and I saw them litter, that would pretty much be them shutting the window on themselves. Even if they were a millionaire or looked like some magazines;  sexiest person of the year.

How does it look where you walk your dogs? Is there a lot of trash? How does it make you feel?

©gigbytes (lowercase v) 2017

2 comments on “Trash

  • One of my pet hates, too. I fume when I see rubbish flying out of car windows, or casually dropped by the wayside by pedestrians. Even more infuriating is when beaches, parks and playgrounds are left soiled by these sewer-skunks. Pity one can’t bin the perpetrators, saying, ‘The way you scatter the stuff around, you’ll be right at home in there.’

  • Leave a Reply

